Breweries, Bakeries, Restaurants and More


Tip: Plan an early lunch (11am) or evening meal (5pm) for no waiting!

To save you time and to help you get the most out of your visit, we have made this list of local favorites/frequently requested places of interest that our campers and families enjoy. If you have a special interest that is not on this list, please ask our camp host for more information.

  • We hope you enjoy Hendersonville’s small town flair! Many of our campers prefer downtown Hendersonville because it’s fun and compact; it has gardens, outdoor dining, unique shops, places to dine and plenty to do.

Local Radio Station
Blue Ridge Public Radio – 103.1 Hendersonville “NPR for Western NC”…..bpr.org
WTZQ – 95.3 FM/1600 AM……..“Your Q-munity Radio Station”……………WTZQ.com

Groceries and Propane
Ingles: 3643 Howard Gap Rd
Hendersonville NC 28792……..“Starbucks/Deli/Pharmacy”…………ingles-markets.com

Aldi: 110 Duncan Hill Rd
Hendersonville NC 28792…….”“Good Different”………..aldi.us, instacart.com

Exxon Energy Mart #1
1920 Four Seasons Blvd
Hendersonville NC 28792…………“Propane at a Good Price”…………………..exxon.com

Good Buys
Blue Ridge Bargains………..“Online Retail at Big Discounts”……..blueridgebargains.com Bloomfield’s of Flat Rock…………. “China Store & Gifts”…………………… 196 McMurray Rd

Bakeries & Restaurants
Binions Roadhouse……………“Home of the Perfect Steak”………….binionsroadhouse.com
Fireside Restaurant………………. “THE Breakfast Place”…………….firesidepancakeinn.com
Day in the Country……………. “Gift Shop/ Veranda for Lunch”……………….aditc.com
Underground Baking…………… “Organic Breads, Pretzels”……..undergroundbaking.com
Piggy’s Ice Cream……… “Ice Cream Parlor/Grill”…………harrysandpiggys.com
Mcfarlan’s Bakery…………….. “Yummy! Yummy!”……………..mcfarlanbakery.com
Gateaux Cakes and Pastries….. “Fabulous French Bakery”…………..gateauxhvl.com
Hen Dough………………………… “Fried Chicken & Doughnuts”…………hendough.com
West First Pizza…………….. “Best Pizza”………………….flatrockwoodfired.com
2Guys Pizza…………………… “Planet Friendly Food and Brews”……………2guyspizza.net
Hubba Hubba………….. “BBQ Plus”……………hubbahubbasmokehouse.com
Haus Heidelberg…………………. “German Sandwiches”……………..hausheidelberg.com
White Duck Taco Shop……… “Something Truly Dierent”……..whiteducktacoshop.com

Breweries/Wineries/Meadery/Ciders/Distillery – Within 10 miles
Burntshirt Vineyards…… “Winery of the Year 2018-2020”…….burntshirtvineyards.com  
St. Paul Mountain Vineyards… “Weekend Food Truck”…………….saintpaulfarms.com
Two Trees Distilling Co…………..“Flavored Whiskey”…………… twotreesdistilling.com
Appalachian Ridge Hard Cider…“From Branch to Bottle”………..saintpaulfarms.com
Marked Tree Vineyard….“Wine on the Continental Divide”…..markedtreevineyard.com
Sawyer Springs Vineyard….“Family Owned, 6th Gen”………sawyerspringsvineyard.com
The Big Three
Sierra Nevada………………………………………sierranevada.com
Oskar Blues…………………………………………oskarblues.com
New Belgium……………………………………….newbelgium.com

Apple Orchards (Aug-Oct)
Mountain Fresh……………….“The BEST Apple Donuts!”…………..mtnfreshorchards.com
Freemans Orchards……“54 Varieties/Rare Antique Apples”……3032 Chimney Rock Rd
Justus Orchard………“Amazing Playground!/Our FAVORITE”……….justusorchard.com ……………………“U-Pick Thornless Blackberries Early July…………………………..
Fruit of the Spirit Orchard…..U-Pick blackberries………thefruitofthespiritorchard.com

Hikes

Jump Off Rock……………“Scenic Overlook With Panoramic View”…………laurelpark.org
Oklawaha Greenway Trail………. “Walk/Bike 3.5 Miles”……………..friendsofoklawaha.org
Chimney Rock Park…………… “Trails and Nature”………………chimneyrockpark.com
Florence Preserve………………… “Hiking Jewel”…………………..conservingcarolina.org
Weed Patch Mountain Trail… “National Award Winner”………….conservingcarolina.org
Youngs Mountain Trail……………..“NEW 2.1 Mile Trail”………………conservingcarolina.org
NC Arboretum……………….“Gardens/Hiking/Biking Trails”………..ncarboretum.org

Places for Kids of All Ages
Apple Valley Model Railroad Museum…..“A Favorite!”…………………avmrc.com
Aquarium and Shark Lab………………….“Inspiring!”………………….teamecco.org
Hands On! Children’s Museum……….“Fun and Interactive”…………handsonwnc.org
Dancing Bear Toys………….“Art Supplies/Stickers/Unique Toys”….dancingbeartoys.com
Chimney Rock Park…………. “Great Woodland Adventure”…………chimneyrockpark.com
Kanuga Bike Park…………………………..“Mountain Biking”……………….ridekanuga.com
Track Trails…………………..“Trails to Get Kids Engaged”…………………kidsinparks.com 

Gardens
Bullington Gardens…………..“Wildflowers, Rare Plants”…………bullingtongardens.org ……………..“Breathtaking Dahlias in September, Don’t Miss This Photo Op!”……………
NC Arboretum……………….“Gardens/Hiking/Biking Trails”………..ncarboretum.org

Farmers Markets
Hendersonville Farmers Market…………………………………………….Saturdays, 8 am to 1 pm
Historic Train Depot/650 Maple Street Rain or shine! Downtown Hendersonville’s Seventh Avenue District.  Free parking ……….hendersonvillenc.gov/events/hendersonville-farmers-market

Henderson County Tailgate Market…………………..Saturdays, 8 am to 12 pm
April – October.  100 North King Street   Hendersonville NC 28792

Henderson County Curb Market…………………….Tues, Thurs and Sat, 8 am to 2 pm
221 North Church Street
Hendersonville NC 28792……………………curbmarket.com

Trails
Cheers! Trail …………………………………visithendersonvillenc.org/cheers-trail
Crest of Blue Ridge Orchard Trail…………visithendersonvillenc.org/Apple-Orchards
Hendersonville: Art Gallery Trail…………visit hendersonvillenc.org/Art-Gallery-Trail
Blue Ridge Craft Trails…………………………blueridgeheritage.com/blue-ridge-craft-trails